Sometimes you pay more for a level of maturity

In the recent months I have paid attention to the soft skills of a set of people I often interact with (at work, the library group, and the place where I volunteer)

These are my observations of the value (paycheck) I estimate different people get based on soft skills: maturity is a top soft skill

  • What maturity gets you?
    • knowledge of when/how to act on new information
    • better understanding of priorities
    • be more thoughtful of all aspects of completing a task (such as, does it fully work? did I consider all possible scenarios?)
  • What other soft skills you already screen for?
    • In most teams, even in a library group, you likely already screened for a minimum acceptable of soft skills
    • The screening likely included communication skills, certain achievements, and a team fit
    • Likely you gotta pay extra for the mature-level person
  • What soft skills can your team develop over time?
    • Focus
    • Knowledge of other’s strengths and weak points
  • Plan for action
    • Observe soft skills of other people in the different teams you belong to

Leave a comment